January 16, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts

The Bonded Title Process

January 16, 2019

1/6
Please reload

Featured Posts

How To Title & Register A Car In Your Name

January 16, 2019

You have a new car and you need to register and title it in your name.  What do you need to do?  A Third Party Motor Vehicle office like us can make the process as smooth as possible for you.    

 

When you buy a vehicle, Arizona law requires that you apply for a title within 15 days of purchase. A title transfer penalty may be assessed if a title application is submitted beyond this time. If your vehicle was registered in another state and you wish to operate it in Arizona, you must register it as soon as you become an Arizona resident. All applicants listed on the application for Arizona title must sign the application. An original, notarized power of attorney is acceptable to allow an appointed person to sign on behalf of one or more of the owners.

 

You will need to bring in:

  • A completed, signed Title and Registration Application  (Only if there is a person you are adding to the title in addition to yourself that cannot be present.  Otherwise we will complete a Title and Registration Application for you.)

  • A signed and notarized vehicle title

  • A lien release, if applicable

  • All applicable title and registration fees

  • Any other documents that apply (e.g, original or certified copy of power of attorney, personal representative papers, etc.)

If there is a lien on the vehicle that has not been paid off, written permission from the lienholder/lender will be required to add or delete a name.

 

To title and register your out-of-state vehicle, you must have these items:

  • A completed, signed Title and Registration Application  (Only if there is a person you are adding to the title in addition to yourself that cannot be present.  Otherwise we will complete a Title and Registration Application for you.)

  • An emission compliance form (Phoenix and Tucson areas only)

  • A Level I vehicle inspection, if out-of-state title and/or registration is missing

  • An out-of-state title (or registration, if title is held by lienholder)

  • Out-of-state license plates

  • A lien clearance, if applicable

  • Power of Attorney from the lessor (original or certified copy), if leased vehicle

  • Payment of all applicable title and registration fees

Fees

The cost to title and register your vehicle varies depending on the vehicle. There is a $4 title fee, an $8 registration fee, an air-quality research fee of $1.50 and a vehicle license tax (VLT) assessed in place of a personal property tax charged by other states. There may also be a weight fee and commercial registration fee if the vehicle is registered as commercial.

The VLT is based on an assessed value from the manufacturer's base retail price and is reduced each year since the vehicle was first registered.  This fee is individual to each vehicle and will be pulled up by the vehicle’s VIN. 

As a Third Party Motor Vehicle office, we charge an additional convenience fee for processing.  We will walk you through the process and you will be in and out with title, registration and plate in hand.   

Please reload

Follow Us
Search By Tags
Please reload

Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square